April 8, 2009
paninigirl

9 comments

Torta Di Pasqua

torta1With Easter only a few days away, there’s one thing besides chocolate on my mind and it’s-my grandmother’s Italian Easter pie (also known as Puzza Rustica). I don’t know why I wait around for Easter to make this . It’s so good that it shouldn’t be relegated to one weekend in spring. The ingredients are available all year and I vow not to wait another year to pop one into the oven.

I posted the recipe last year when I made it after I returned from Arezzo. I didn’t see it for sale anywhere in town there, as it really is more of a specialty of the Campania region. A few days before Easter I did wander into a small shop in hope of finding the torta being sold, but I was out of luck. The sign outside said “Prodotti di Napoli” (products of Naples) and it sold cheeses of the Campania area, but not prepared foods.

My grandmother’s version uses prosciutto, but I’ve seen recipes that include other cured meats. There’s a great recipe in Big Night In, by Domenica Marchetti so if you have that book, be sure to check it out. If you don’t have this book, you should!

Served with a simple salad, the torta makes a great lunch. Cut into smaller slices with a glass of proseco and you have the perfect appetizer. Buon Appetito!

9 thoughts on “Torta Di Pasqua

  1. We love that as an appetizer before the main Easter meal. Buona Pasqua.

  2. Your grandmother’s Easter pie looks wonderful. We love proscuitto so I know my husband would like this.
    Happy Easter.
    Sam

  3. This is the first Easter in years I didn’t make one for Easter because we are away. Such a wonderful recipe and tradition!

    I wonder if our recipes are similar?

  4. I am a new reader to your blog and am thoroughly enjoying it. Both sets of my grandparents were from the area around Cassino in Lazio. Easter pie was a staple at my maternal grandmother’s Easter celebrations. This Easter it was my mother who continued the tradition. Have a wonderful Easter.

  5. Buona Pasqua. A belated Easter wish. Hope you had a great one Janie! That Easter pie looks just delish 🙂

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

