February 11, 2009
paninigirl

5 comments

Herbed New Potatoes

potatoes
Many years ago I was lucky to be an employee at a restaurant which was at the forefront of the food scene in San Diego. The owners were ahead of their time and introduced the locals to new trends, along with great reproductions of the classics. Their business included a restaurant, a charcuterie and patisserie department, wine, a cooking school and a shop with everything you might need for the kitchen. Eventually their cookbook came along and it was chock full of all the favorites from their bistro.

Last week my friend L. reminded me of this book and I came home and pulled it off the shelf. I’m getting ready to take a walk down memory lane and decide on something to make. There is a recipe that I’ve been making for years and it’s so simple that you don’t really need a recipe, but I’m including it here in case you’ve never cooked potatoes this way.

Herbed New Potatoes

1-1/2 pounds small new potatoes
1 cup rich chicken stock
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
Kosher salt to taste
Fresh chopped herbs-use your imagination-I like chives, tarragon, thyme or dill

Scrub the potatoes and arrange them in a heavy skillet in a tight single layer. Add the chicken stock, cover the skillet and cook the potatoes for about 20 minutes, or until the liquid has almost evaporated. Lower the heat, add the butter and cook the potatoes, covered, for 10 minutes, shaking the pan often.

Test the potatoes for doneness. They should be tender, but not mushy. Sprinkle the potatoes with the fresh herbs and serve.
Yield: 4 servings

If you ever run across The Piret’s Cookbook, definitely check it out! I think I’m going to attempt their Woodland Torte-a lucious, earthy potato and mushroom pie. It’s the stuff dreams are made of!

5 thoughts on “Herbed New Potatoes

  1. These potatoes are a staple AND a favorite of mine as well! In fact I made them last Friday to accompany steaks that J grilled. I LOVE the rich syrup produced by the condensed stock and butter. I was reading through my Piret’s Cookbook recently and was reminded of what a wonderful place it was for us young foodies. Lamb Sausage and Grape Leaf Pizza – sigh!

  2. I LOVED Pirets! You don’t have their house salad recipe do you? The one with cubes of cheese? Can’t seem to replicate. Thanks!

    • Shella-I will look around for the recipe-I think it must be in their cookbook which I have and I’ll get back to you. Do you live in North County?

      • I used to live in La Jolla. Now in UK. Would really appreciate the salad and dressing recipe. I still miss it after all these years.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

