January 24, 2009
paninigirl

5 comments

What’s For Dinner?

I usually know early in the day what I’d like to make for dinner. I don’t make a game plan for the whole week, but by the time the afternoon rolls around, I’m formulating the meal in my head. There are the occasional days when I’m uninspired and if we had good take out near by we’d probably be ordering something, but the fact is that we never get food to go. In the end I come up with something, maybe a simple pasta dish, but definitely better than anything we could buy in our neighborhood!

Yesterday was one of those days. I was clueless about what to make and the only thing I knew was that I was not leaving the house to go to the store. Whatever I would make would have to be from ingredients on hand. Ever since reading about “involtini” on “Over a Tuscan Stove” I had been dreaming of beef cooked in a tomato sauce. I knew I had flank steak in the freezer and rather than making small rolls I could make one larger piece with a similar stuffing. It would then be “braciole”-a dish my childhood. Each week when my grandmother made her big pot of “gravy” (tomato sauce) she included a braciole and I always made sure that I got a slice or two.

I didn’t use a recipe, instead just went with I remembered. I have made it before, but not in years. After the fact, I did take a look at a recipe of Giada’s and the ingredients and the technique are very similar to what I did. The only difference was that I included pine nuts and a little fresh basil in the filling. I didn’t use provolone, but I did lay a slice of prosciutto on the steak before adding the filling. Served with roasted mushrooms, sauteed swiss chard and an arugula salad, our impromptu dinner was just what I had hoped-delectable!

5 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner?

  1. Hi Panini Girl….Linda Lou sent me over..I’m also Italian and not from N.Y. but close enough, I’m a Jersey girl living in Atlanta…I can’t wait to read you past posts…It appears we all love food…I have a ton of posts on cooking…stop by and say hello…Sue

  2. Welcome Sue-thanks for stopping by-I’ll be checking out what you’re up to!

  3. I love braciole! We have a local store that sells the meat already cut to roll. It’s terrific stuff.

  4. Ree over at Pioneer Woman is running one of her many contests. She has been nomitated for a couple of 2009 Blog awards and to celebrate the internet and all that it offers she is hosting a give away.

    To enter you simply indicate one of your favorite blogs that was not nominated for their awards. I was very surprised that you weren’t on the list but happy in that I could use your site as my entry.

    So, if you get a bunch of hits in the next couple of days it might be because her readers are checking you out.

    Just wanted to give you a heads up.

    Keeping my fingers crossed I win over at Pioneer Woman

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

