January 19, 2009
paninigirl

1 comment

Chocolate Tea Cake

It’s a new year and along with just about everyone I know, we’ve decided to cut back on the consumption of sweets that snuck up on us during the holiday season. I’d say we’re eating healthier, but truth be told, we eat pretty healthy all the time. I’m someone who wants something sweet, preferably chocolate, every day. I don’t need a lot, one or two bites will do. So this week I thought we were doing pretty well when in walks J. with four pints of Hagen Daz ice cream! I guess he saw them on sale and couldn’t help himself. We’re having friends for a casual supper tonight and I planned on serving ice cream for dessert since we’re stocked up. I decided that I couldn’t serve just a bowl of ice cream. I suppose I’ve been looking for an excuse all week long to bake something and so I had to make this loaf cake to go with the Hagen Daz!
choc-loaf

Chocolate Tea Cake

2-1/2 cups cake flour
1 cup cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup unsalted butter (2sticks), softened
2 cups granulated sugar
1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
6 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1-1/4 cups sour cream

Heat the oven to 325 degrees. Butter two 9′ x 5″ loaf pans and line bottoms with parchment paper. Combine the flour, 1 cup cocoa, salt, baking powder, baking soda with a whisk and set aside. Beat the butter, granulated sugar and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Add almond extract and the sour cream. Add the flour mixture in thirds, beating after each addition until the batter is smooth.
Transfer batter to the prepared pans and bake until a wooden skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean, about 1 hour and 20 minutes. Cool on a wire rack for 20 minutes, remove from pan and let cake cool completely. Yield: 2 loaves

This recipe was from Country Living and it called for a chocolate glaze made with confectioners sugar, cocoa and whipping cream. I made it, didn’t like it and used some fudge sauce I had made (melt chocolate chips-about 1/2 cup- with a little butter and whisk in a few tablespoons heavy cream). I then topped with slivered almonds and of course, served topped with vanilla and coffee ice cream. I think it would have been better with a spoonful of fudge sauce over the ice cream too. So much for skipping dessert!

One thought on “Chocolate Tea Cake

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

