December 29, 2008
paninigirl

4 comments

From The Pages Of-Barefoot Contessa Family Style

frittata
I love Ina Garten. Her cookbooks are full of recipes that are easy to follow and ingredients that are readily available. I like her style and have to admit that I use her recipes mostly for inspiration as I can’t bring myself to use as much butter and cream that many of her recipes call for.

My friend S. served this frittata at a recent luncheon and we were all immediately won over by it’s flavor. The taste and texture reminded me of the Italian Easter Pie that I make and so I was curious to see its list of ingredients. There it was-ricotta cheese-the same in both recipes. I’m posting Ina’s recipe as written in the book and will tell you what I did differently.

Potato Basil Frittata

8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, divided
2 cups peeled and 1/2″ diced boiling potatoes
8 extra-large eggs
15 ounces ricotta cheese
3/4 pound gruyere cheese, grated
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground back pepper
3/4 cup chopped fresh basil
1/3 cup flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
Melt 3 tablespoons butter in a 10-inch oven-proof skillet over medium-low heat. Add the potatoes and fry them until cooked through, turning often, about 10-15 minutes. Melt the remaining 5 tablespoons butter in small dish in microwave (I eliminated this butter).

Whisk the eggs in a large bowl, then stir in the ricotta, gruyere (I only used 1/4 pound gruyere), melted butter, salt, pepper and basil. Sprinkle on the flour (I used 1/4 cup) and baking powder and stir into egg mixture.

Pour the egg mixture over the potatoes and place pan in the center of the oven. Bake until browned and puffed, about 50 minutes. It will be rounded and firm in the middle and a knife inserted comes out clean. Serves 8.

4 thoughts on “From The Pages Of-Barefoot Contessa Family Style

  1. I love Ina also. I use all her recipes- full fat and everything!! I have never been disappointed! Looks like you enjoyed the Frittata.

    I especially love her cookbook Barefoot in Paris- Easy French Food to make at home.

    I enjoy watching her an Jeffrey on the Food Network- they are too cute 😉

  2. Sounds yummy…can’t wait to give it a try.

  3. I made this last Easter for brunch!! Delicious, here’s to Ina, with all of her cream and butter….what a way to start the New Year.

  4. I had to cut back on the butter since I went crazy with that and the cream in my swiss chard gratin!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

