December 2, 2008
paninigirl

2 comments

From The Pages Of…Once Upon A Tart

I am still attempting to try new recipes from my ever expanding cookbook collection. What is it about buying a new cookbook? I just can’t seem to stop myself. Sometimes when I hear of a new book I peruse Amazon and then I spend days trying to decide if I really need this one or not. In the end I usually buy it! Right now I’m trying to keep myself from buying any books as I am hoping to receive my annual box of books-a very special gift from my best friend from high school. Now that’s a gift that keeps on giving.

The book I’m using today was actually part of one of those incredible boxes some years back. It comes from a bakeshop and cafe in New York City with the same name (Once Upon A Tart). I remember how excited I was when I first devoured this book-it’s all that I love to make-sandwiches, soups, tarts (savory and sweet), salads, scones, muffins and cookies. I guess you could say it’s exactly what I would have liked my restaurant to have evolved into, had we kept it going.

The recipe that I made today is for Tomato Chutney with Golden Raisins. I love all types of chutneys and this one sounded perfect to put on a sandwich. I’m getting together with some girlfriends this week to celebrate a few birthdays and volunteered to bring my panini grill and make sandwiches for lunch. I’m still not sure what type I’ll be making, but it will be something that will feature this chutney.

Tomato Chutney with Golden Raisins

3 pounds plum tomatoes, peeled and diced
2″ piece of fresh ginger, peeled and finely grated
1-1/4 cups sugar
1 medium red onion, finely diced
1- garlic cloves, peeled and minced
1 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
A pinch of red pepper flakes
2 teaspoons salt
1/3 cup golden raisins (or dark raisins, dried black currants or dried apricots)

Dump everything but the raisins into a heavy-bottomed saucepan and simmer over low heat. Continue cooking, stirring frequently to prevent sticking until most of the liquid has evaporated and what’s left is thick and syrupy, about 45 minutes (this took a lot longer for me).

Add the raisins and continue cooking for another 5-10 minutes to plump them up. Don’t worry if the chutney seems runny while it’s warm. It will solidify to the consistency of jam as it cools.
Yield: 2-1/2 cups

Spread on sandwiches or serves with cheese (especially sharp cheddar).

And if you happen to find yourself in NYC go on over and have lunch at Once Upon a Tart and be sure to let me know what you ordered!
135 Sullivan Street
New York, New York 10012
212-387-8869

2 thoughts on “From The Pages Of…Once Upon A Tart

  1. Been there. It is a very cute place 🙂

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

