November 17, 2008
paninigirl

2 comments

Breakfast Pizza?

egg
As you can see from the photo, I’m not talking about leftover take out pizza. Sure, at some point we’ve probably all had pizza from the previous night for our morning meal. You may have even eaten cold, right out of the fridge. I almost wish I could do that, because that would mean that we actually could get good delivery pizza, which we don’t. We don’t even have pizza that’s good enough to drive for. Anyway, keeping that in mind you can see why we make our own pizza.

A few months back I came upon an interesting article in the NY Times Sunday magazine section featuring a great looking breakfast pizza. The story was about a small restaurant/bakery in Big Sur called “The Big Sur Bakery”. It sounds like a wonderful place to eat and I wonder how many times we’ve driven by, not even realizing that it was there. Next time we’re on the beautiful coast road, we’ll definitely be stopping by for a bite.

I’ve been meaning to try this pizza ever since I read the article, but I always think about doing it when we’re hungry and I know that making pizza dough right then would mean that we wouldn’t eat for a few hours. Today I remembered that I had a Trader Joe’s dough in the fridge and we could finally have this breakfast that I’ve been dreaming about.

Breakfast Pizza

1 12″ pizza dough (your favorite recipe or purchased)
4 strips crisply fried bacon torn into pieces
1/4 cup freshly grated parmigiano
1 cup grated mozzarella
3 large eggs
1 tablespoon minced flat leaf parsley
1 tablespoon minced chives
1 scallion thinly sliced
1/2 shallot, minced

About an hour before baking adjust the oven rack to the lowest spot and set a pizza stone on it. Preheat oven to 500 degrees.
On a lightly floured surface roll dough into 12″ circle (or if you’re really adept with pizza dough stretch it over your fists to form circle). Generously dust the surface of a pizza peel or large inverted sheet pan with flour and place the stretched dough on it.
Sprinkle the dough with parmeggiano, mozzarella and bacon. Crack 3 eggs over the top and season with salt and pepper. Shake the peel slightly to make sure that the dough isn’t sticking. If it is sticking, carefully lift dough and sprinkle a little flour underneath. Slide the dough on to the pizza stone and bake for 8-10 minutes until the crust is golden, the cheese is melted and the egg yolks are cooked. Transfer to a cutting board, sprinkle with chives, parsley, scallion and shallots (I took the photo before I did this) and let cool 2 minutes, slice and serve immediately.

This was delicious! The addition of the chopped chives and other onions was a nice addition to the flavors of the pizza. I think it would also be wonderful with a sharp cheddar instead of the mozzarella. Buon appetito!

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Pizza?

  1. What a beautiful pizza…. I wish I had gotten up to this breakfast this morning (my birthday) instead of having coach’s oats…. oh well, maybe next year.

  2. Linda-we’ll have to have a brunch some day and I’ll make this!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

