November 10, 2008
paninigirl

4 comments

La Farinata

I frequently have a running list going of things I would like to make in the kitchen. Ages ago I read about “Farinta” a crepe-like snack that comes from the Liguria region of Italy. Made with chickpea flour, water with a little bit of olive oil, salt and if you like, fresh rosemary, it is a relatively simple food to make. A few weeks back I was down in San Diego’s Little Italy and there in one its shops I found the necessary chickpea flour. I knew that we would soon be nibbling farinata with a glass of wine before dinner. In Liguria it is a “street food” and you can eat it while out strolling through town. Were we only so lucky!

I have to admit that I was spurred on to actually make this by Cream Puffs in Venice. Ivonne over at Cream Puffs featured this snack a few weeks ago using Carol Field’s “Italy in Small Bites”, a book I’ve cherished for years. After checking the recipe I thought “I can do this too!” (I must admit that Cream Puff is a veritable baker and I don’t know if I could attempt all that she makes!). More than once in the last few weeks as evening approached, I decided that it was time to make the farinata, only to be reminded that the batter needs to sit for 3-4 hours! Today I remembered early enough and yes, we did have this as a pre-dinner snack. Sorry there are no photos. I was too concerned about getting it out of the pan-it stuck a little which means next time I need to coat the pan with a little more olive oil. You will have to check Cream Puffs in Venice for photos of what it should look like.

Farinata

1-1/2 cups water
1 cup tightly packed chickpea flour
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
4-1/2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary
Lots of freshly ground pepper

Pour the water in a large mixing bowl and gradually sift the flour and salt into it. Whisk well and smooth out any lumps. Let sit 3-4 hours.
Preheat the oven to 500 degrees. Skim any foam off the batter. Oil a 12″ pizza pan and 9″ shallow metal baking pan each with 1 tablespoon olive oil. I used 2-10″ cast iron skillets instead. Pour in a very thin layer of batter-no more than 1/4″. Drizzle the remaining olive oil over and sprinkle with rosemary.
Bake in upper third of oven until the top is golden and bubbly. It should take a bout 20 minutes, maybe a little longer. Cut into wedges and season abundantly with freshly ground pepper.

4 thoughts on “La Farinata

  1. So glad you tried the farinata! Mine actually stuck a little bit too the first time I made it but it was so good!!!

  2. This is something I’ve never tried. I’ve got no excuse now. Dan spent a lot of his childhood in Liguria. He took me to a place where they make them several years ago – I can still remember how delicious they were. Thanks for the recipe.

  3. Farinata is delicious. It is widespread in this part of Piemonte because of our proximity to Liguria. One of my favorite quick meals is a pile of ripped up pieces of farinata, a big green salad and a glass of red wine!! It is particularly good when it comes directly out of the wood forno!

    Thanks for posting this.

  4. Pingback: Eating Farinata-The Real Deal « Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

