Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

August 19, 2008
paninigirl

4 comments

Banana Cake


Bananas ripening in the bowl on the counter usually means banana bread. Last week I saw a recipe in the Los Angeles Times for a banana cake topped with a light cream cheese frosting and the thought of anything with cream cheese frosting, just does it for me. The recipe came from “Clementine“, a cafe in LA that I’ve always wanted to visit, but so far haven’t made it to. Knowing that this spot has a great reputation, I figured the cake would be a good one, and it is. I made it with the intention of serving it with a cup of coffee in the morning, but I have to admit that since it came out of the oven late in the afternoon we ended up having it for a dessert with a scoop of vanilla ice cream-perfetto!

Banana Cake

2-1/2 cups pastry flour
2-2/3 cups sugar
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon kosher salt
3 large or 4 small ripe bananas
3 eggs
1/2 cup buttermilk
3/4 canola oil
1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Sift the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt into a large bowl. In bowl of a mixer (or with hand mixer) mash bananas. Mix in the eggs, one at a time and then mix in the buttermilk, oil and vanilla. Mix the dry ingredients into the batter just until thoroughly combined.
Pour into a greased 9 x 13″ greased pan. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool on rack.

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 cup plus 1-1/2 tablespoons cream cheese at room temperature
5 tablespoons butter at room temperature
1/2 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons sour cream

In the bowl of a stand mixer (or with a hand mixer) beat the cream cheese until smooth, then add the butter until incorporated. Add the powdered sugar and sour cream. Frost the top of the cooled cake.

I divided the recipe in half and made it in an 8 x 8″ pan and after cooling on rack, removed cake from pan, then frosted. This cake is really moist and I love the little bit of tartness that the sour cream adds.

4 thoughts on “Banana Cake

  1. That sounds sooooo good. I have got a few bananas ripening and I think this cake will be their final destination, how about some Chunky Monkey ice cream with it…..

  2. yum. goodie. I will have to fake the buttermilk and make my own. It’s one product I REALLY miss here!! I will give it a go.

  3. This cake was delicious, I enjoyed the piece that I recieved over the fence. My husband didn’t get much because I ate most of it.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

