August 13, 2008
paninigirl

5 comments

A Bun In The Oven?


I would not say that I am a pro at baking breads, but it is something that I enjoy and have been doing on and off ever since I first became interested in cooking. My early attempts with yeast were not without trials and tribulation. I was living in Denver and had to figure in the effect of altitude on my baking attempts-not always an easy thing and I remember a loaf of wheat bread that that I could have used for a door stop! There was a period where I baked baguettes for every dinner party and in the colder months made bread weekly. Maybe I should get back into that routine?

I was inspired to make these homemade rolls after reading about rolls for hot dogs on Palma’s blog, Palmabella’s Passions back at the beginning of July. They looked delicious and I thought they would be perfect for the slow cooked pork sandwiches that I planned on making for dinner. I’m a huge pork fan, cooked any way and when I recently saw a recipe in the Los Angeles Times, I knew it was time to try both recipes-the pork and the rolls. Check out the LA Times for July 23 for the recipe (sorry, I can’t get the link to work) and the roll recipe actually comes from Judith’s blog, Think On It, an American living, cooking and teaching cooking in Umbria.

The sandwiches were fabulous! The pork was so tender and flavorful and the rolls were the perfect accompaniment. They held up nicely to the moist pork filling. I wouldn’t hesitate to make them again for hamburgers. So now I’m inspired to get back into the kitchen and get out the yeast. I’m eyeing a recipe that was in the Sunday NY Times for a breakfast pizza-bacon, eggs and cheese atop a pizza-now you’re talking my kind of breakfast food!

5 thoughts on “A Bun In The Oven?

  1. I tried to make fococcia recently and it came out hard and not very tasty at all. Baking has never been my forte either!! At least you tried it and were successful. BTW I thought for some reason you lived in Point Loma?? I remember Piret;s and they had one in Mission Hills too. We are dating ourselves aren’t we?

  2. I have such great memories of my Mom baking homemade raisin bread, which is one of my favs!! She would put it on our wood stove to rise before, and cool after…and we would impatiently drool until we could devour it!!!

    Nothing like fresh baked bread! Yours looks delish!!

  3. Linda-I would love to live in Pt. Loma! There’s a good paperback book by Carol Field on focaccia-her recipes are great and easy to follow.

    Robin-wood stove? I”m jealous!

  4. Great form, up there!

    Later this autumn I am going to publish a bunch of fillings for those buns, because somehow the Italians thought you could only eat hamburgers or hotdogs in them. Harumph! Lobster salad will do me!

    As to the focaccia, I finally always have a good one if I use a sloppy dough and let it rise in the fridge at least 12 hours. That’s how all that great grainy taste develops, apparently.

    Nice to see some kitchen muscle on the bread front, eh?

  5. Judith-thanks for the focaccia tips!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

