July 24, 2008
paninigirl

1 comment

From The Pages Of- The Summer House Cookbook

I’ve cracked another cookbook in search of new things to try. Okay, todays recipe probably shouldn’t really count. I mean, how many times have I made blueberry muffins? A lot, but this is a not the recipe that I usually use and I have to admit that the texture of these was better than my old standby. I also figured that it’s early in the week and I have time to thumb through a few more books in search of something interesting to make. I need a starter and a side dish for a get together on a boat over the weekend, so hopefully I’ll try a new recipe then.

Lemon Blueberry Muffins

3 cups flour
1 cup sugar
4-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
1/2 cup canola oil
1-1/2 cups milk
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 cup grated lemon zest (from 2 large lemons)
1-1/2 cups blueberries
Sugar in the raw (optional-I just substituted granulated)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In medium bowl mix together flour, sugar, salt and baking powder. In separate bowl whisk together eggs and then stir in oil and milk.
Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until just combined. Stir in cinnamon, zest and blueberries.
Lightly grease a muffin tin and fill cups 2/3 full. Sprinkle the top of each muffin with sugar. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Yield: about 16 muffins

Enjoy right out of the oven with a little butter-wow! Tastes like a little bit of summer.

One thought on “From The Pages Of- The Summer House Cookbook

  1. I LOVE BLUEBERRIES AND ANYTHING WITH LEMON JUST MAKES IT MORE DELICIOUS!! WHEN WE WENT TO ITALY LAST SUMMER I WAS INTRODUCED TO LIMONCELLO, OH MY, THAT BECAME OUR SUMMER DRINK…. I FOUND SOME RECIPES WITH LIMONCELLO – LIKE LEMON SQUARES….MORE GOOD STUFF.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

