July 22, 2008
paninigirl

3 comments

Stuff It


Summer vegetables-they’re so easy to love. Peppers are just starting to come in at my farmers market and there’s so many things to do with them . This dish is simple and can be eaten hot or at room temperature.

Tomato Stuffed Peppers

1 large red bell pepper, sliced in half (through stem-clean out seeds)
2-3 small tomatoes
1 clove garlic sliced thinly
Fresh basil leaves
Salt & pepper
Extra virgin olive oil

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Place pepper halves in baking dish. Boil water in saucepan. Score bottom of tomatoes with an “x” and drop into boiling water. Boil for less than a minute, remove and place in a bowl of ice water. Skins from tomatoes should easily slip off-discard skins. Slice tomatoes in half and place halves in red pepper halve. Tuck garlic slices and basil leaves around tomatoes. Drizzle extra virgin olive oil over peppers. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake in oven for about half hour.

I was inspired to stuff these beauties by Bea at La Tartine Gourmande. If you’ve never taken a look at her blog, it’s gorgeous and she has incredible ideas and recipes. Usually I just rub these round zucchini like squash with a little olive and throw them on the grill, but stuffing them was fun and they made a nice meal.

After scooping out the zucchini rounds with a grapefruit spoon I sauteed the flesh with ground veal and chopped onions, then mixed it with a little cooked orzo, parmesan cheese, toasted pine nuts, basil, salt and pepper. Use your imagination on your stuffing-I’m thinking a little curried couscous might be nice next time. I poured a little chicken broth in the bottom of the dish and should have baked them for about 45 minutes, but we ran out to have a drink and they ended up being in the oven a little longer than they needed to be. They were still good and so was watching the sunset and having that cool cocktail!

3 thoughts on “Stuff It

  1. We have some round zucchini growing in the garden. Now I know what I’m going to do with some of them, thanks! 🙂

  2. Love these ideas. I have an excellent recipe for stuffed peppers that uses a lentil filling. It is delish!!! And my Mom used to make stuffed peppers with a ground beef, onion and tomato filling.

    So many great things to do with veggies 🙂

  3. I’m sending this comment again b/c my connection flipped out on me…

    Love summer veggies, but never realized how much until I began growing my own! I saw those round zucchini for the very first time on Clotilde’s blog Chocolate & Zucchini and thought, Wow! How cool are those!!

    About the 45-minute drive just for bread! My sentiments exactly on having to go out of your way for something good. It wouldn’t be so bad if you could get other things that you needed as well, but I think at this point I should also say that it reaaalllly wouldn’t be that terrible if gas wasn’t so darn expensive! We actually went out to find this guy because I wanted to see his bakery for myself. Unfortunately he must work real baker’s hours in the dead of night. That’s authentic enough for me. 😉

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

