July 21, 2008
paninigirl

2 comments

From The Pages Of-Grills & Greens

A week had passed since I made the decision of diving into my collection of cookbooks and I realized that I had yet to make anything! I began pulling out volumes that I remembered as interesting when I first received them, and started thumbing through them on the search for a recipe that jumped off the pages to me. I didn’t have anything particular in mind, except that it be something seasonal. I love to be able to create without running out to the store, but after finding a recipe that I thought would make a good light lunch, I did have to hit the supermarket.

I decided to make Zucchini Blossom and White Corn Quesadillas from “Grills & Greens”. I’ve actually made something similar as a starter but in the past I grilled all the vegetables and then baked the quesadillas in the oven. In this version that vegetables are sauteed on the stove (after charring the chilies on the grill) and the quesadillas are finished on the grill. It turned out well and although I probably didn’t really need a recipe to do this, it did get me started on my quest to look at my books more often! I have adapted this recipe, changing the quantities a little.

Zucchini Blossom & White Corn Quesadillas

2 large poblano chiles
2 tablespoons olive or canola oil
1 small zucchini, diced
1 cup cleaned and chopped zucchini blossoms
1 ear white corn (corn removed from cob)
1/4 cup chicken stock
4 large flour tortillas
4 ounces grated Monterrey Jack cheese

Grill the chiles either on grill or over flame on stove until blackened. Put them in a plastic or paper bag and let them steam for about 10 minutes. Peel off the charred skin, remove seeds and coarsely chop peppers.
Heat oil in skillet over medium high heat and add chiles, corn, zucchini and blossoms. Cook for several minutes until vegetables are soft, add stock and cook over medium high heat until liquid is absorbed. Cool slightly.
Place tortillas on grill for about a minute and then remove. Spread cheese on one half side of the tortilla, top with vegetable mixture and fold other half over to close. Repeat with remaining tortillas.
I put the quesadillas on a baking sheet and then put on grill for about 2 minutes. Alternately you could place quesadillas directly on the grill for less than a minute a side. These cook quickly, so don’t walk away! Remove from grill and serve with salsa.

At this time of year you can usually find zucchini blossoms at your farmers market, but if not, this is still delicious without them.

2 thoughts on “From The Pages Of-Grills & Greens

  1. ho, this sounds great! I’ve been keeping my eye out for blossoms, but have never seen them here…

  2. Another great recipe for those blossoms 😉

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

