June 5, 2008
paninigirl

1 comment

Thoughts On Calitri

It’s been two and a half years now since we visited Calitri and I wonder when we will be able to get back there again. I’ve mentioned before that just three years ago when we were planning our trip there, we could hardly find any information on the internet. Thankfully we were able to locate one hotel, but we weren’t aware that when we purchased “train ” tickets for Caltiri, we were actually buying “bus” tickets! Now there is a wealth of information available on the town and we wonder what changes we will discover when we next visit. I remember walking through the old borgo and at the time there was just a little bit of renovation beginning and we wondered aloud about what it would be like to buy a place there. Now it seems that every week I read about someone visiting or buying a place in the town of my ancestors. I wish that we were the proud owners of a home in the borgo!

Is this old sign still hanging above the doorway? Back when we took this photo I didn’t have any idea what type of shop this would have been. Now I now that they sold sewing machines! When we visited Calitri we were woefully unprepared to communicate with the locals and right then and there I decided that I would learn to speak Italian. I knew we would someday return and I wanted to be able to find my relatives and be able to talk with them! It’s been almost two years since I started studying the language and although I’m nowhere near being fluent, I think we would be a lot more comfortable than on our last visit. I dreamt about my grandmother last night and she was speaking in Italian and in my dream I understood her. Wherever she is, I hope she’s looking down at me and smiling, although I’m sure she’d wonder why I would want to live in the town that she left almost one hundred years ago.

One thought on “Thoughts On Calitri

  1. It’s funny what you can go back and now read after you learn some of the language.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

