May 26, 2008
paninigirl

3 comments

What’s For Dessert?


I love dessert! I certainly don’t indulge my sweet tooth every night, but whenever we have guests I make sure that there’s something special to offer for dessert. Of course I have my old standbys, but I am constantly on the search for new recipes to try and add to my dessert repertoire. If there’s any chocolate involved, I’m immediately drawn to the recipe and look for an excuse to give it a try.

The other day when planning the luncheon for my girlfriends (when I served the Italian Easter Pie), I came across a recipe in the most recent issue of Bon Appetit that looked like it would be a good ending for our get together. It’s the perfect do ahead dessert as it’s frozen and you can make it up to three days ahead. It’s a little like an ice box cake, but lighter. Check out Gourmet (June issue) for the recipe-Stracciatella Tortoni Cake with Espresso Fudge Sauce. In Italy stracciatella gelato is akin to what we call chocolate chip, however instead of chunks it’s filled ribbon like shards of chocolate. The crust is a an a almond lovers delight of crushed amaretti cookies mixed with toasted almonds. The fudge sauce is the perfect counterpoint and I would like to keep a constant supply of it in my fridge to serve with ice cream. With summer just around the corner, this is a great recipe to have under your belt.

3 thoughts on “What’s For Dessert?

  1. I bet that was perfect with the pie. Which is beautiful, by the way!

  2. Looks great…..a frozen dessert with chocolate and almonds on top. I’m in 😉

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

