February 5, 2008
paninigirl

no comments

Chocolate Polenta Pudding Cake

Fo years I’ve been looking at a recipe in Lynne Rosetto Kasper’s book “The Italian Country Table” for this scrumptious chocolate cake. I was initially drawn in by the name-I mean, chocolate, polenta and pudding? What’s not to like? I am a total chocolate fiend and have wanted to try this recipe, but always felt like I needed a larger group to serve it to, or when I was having more people, I was too busy to devote a lot of time to a dessert.

Well, Lent is quickly approaching and every year I give up chocolate (no easy feat for someone who is a daily chocolate consumer) and decided that even though we were only having two guests for dinner, I was going to make this cake! I figured that it would be wonderful to have leftovers to eat right up until Lent began.

I am not posting the recipe, as I’ve spent all my energy making the cake, cleaning up the kitchen and dealing with computer problems the rest of the day. I will say that the cake, despite the many steps and the even more bowls and pans used, was fabulous! It was incredibly light (there were egg whites involved), very chocolatey with a hint of cinnamon and orange and a great texture due to the cornmeal.

You actually make a batch of polenta and this becomes the base for the cake. I used Callebaut bittersweet and in addition to finely chopped chocolate which melts into the polenta, there are big chunks which are oozing in the center of the cake. As much as I was complaining about the state of my kitchen as I was putting this dessert together, I would definitely make this again. Check out Lynne’s cookbook-eveything I’ve tried from it has been delicious. Now, I’m off to the kitchen for a little leftovers, but first I need to whip some cream to go with it!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

