January 23, 2008
paninigirl

no comments

La Salade Des Champignons

This salad was created from a food memory from many years ago. I’ve made it various times over the years and whenever I taste it, I’m transported back to the dinner where I first tasted it. I was young, with little money for a “fancy” dinner and was invited to a dinner at the Ambassador West in Chicago. I can envision the wing back chair that I sat in as I ate dinner. There were various Chicago politicians in the room and I felt so grown up! This was what I ordered for my first course-it just sounded good to me and I was not disappointed. It was not long after that I went home and tried to re-create it and to be honest, my rendition is pretty close to the original.
m2.jpg

La Salade des Champignons (Mushroom Salad)
1 pound fresh crimini mushrooms, sliced
2 tablespoons dijon mustard
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
Salt & fresh ground pepper
3 tablespoons fresh chopped chives

Whisk mustard and vinegar together in a small bowl. Slowly drizzle in olive oil and continue whisking. Season with salt and pepper. Place sliced mushrooms in larger bowl and about 1-1/2 hours before you want to serve, toss with dressing. When ready to serve, adjust seasoning (salt and pepper) and sprinkle with chopped chives. Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

