November 21, 2007
paninigirl

2 comments

What’s Cooking?

Okay, this is supposed to be a blog about food and so far I haven’t written much about what I’ve been cooking. There’s a good reason for that-I’ve been down with a cold and haven’t really had the energy to get into the kitchen. That’s when you know I’m under the weather-I always cook!

Thanksgiving is a few days away and yes, we are having people here to celebrate with us. I figured since I haven’t been 100% lately, I better be really organized to pull off this super meal. Luckily, I have great friends who are wonderful cooks and they’re making a big contribution to the meal. I just finished making my favorite cranberry sauce and I’m already looking forward to letfovers-a turkey sandwich slathered with this incredibly tasty cranberry sauce. The recipe was given to me years ago by my friend and former partner N. and I’m not sure where she discovered it, but it’s a winner.

Cranberry Sauce yield 4 cups

2 tablespoons canola oil
1 large onion, diced
5 medium cloves garlic, chopped
4 cups fresh cranberries
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1-1/2 cup cranberry juice
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup port
1-1/2 teaspoon salt
1-1/2 teaspoon fresh ground pepper
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1 small cinnamon stick
1 nickel size slice, fresh ginger
2 whole cloves

Heat oil, saute onion until softened and then add garlic, saute. Add both types of cranberries and all the rest of the ingredients, up to the cinnamon stick. Take cinnamon stick, ginger and cloves and tie into a small bundle with a piece of cheesecloth. Add to the pot, bring to a boil over medium high heat, then lower and simmer until thickened, about 40 minutes. Remove spice bundle and chill. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “What’s Cooking?

  1. Sounds delicious, can’t wait to give it a try. Christmas is just around the corner.

  2. Pingback: Buckle Up! « Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

