October 29, 2007
paninigirl

1 comment

Easy As Pie

For years I was a little intimidated by making pie crusts. I was never one to go and purchase an already made crust-I used to make my own and just suffer through it. I think my attitude about not being able to do a good job was half the problem! They either were too dry and then I would add more water and they would be too wet. Then I would over mix and they were too tough. Friends would give me their recipe for the perfect crust and I would attempt it and still something would go wrong.

Finally I hit upon a recipe that really is easy and fool proof! I’m dedicating this post to my friend S. who has been suffering through my old pie dilemma. The recipe I now use I found in a cookbook called “Heartland” by Marcia Adams. It’s perfect for any pie that you make and I also use it for quiches and as topping for pot pies. Whenever I’m using it for a savory dish, I just omit the sugar. Yes, it’s made with shortening-I use Crisco-and I guarantee you that it will be the flakiest crust you’ve had. Just like your grandma used to make!

Never Fail Pie Crust-makes 4 crusts

4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sugar
1-3/4 cups solid vegetable shortening
1 egg
1 teaspoon cider vinegar
1/2 cup cold water

In a large mixer bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Add the shortening and beat until the mixture is crumbly, about 2 minutes. In a small bowl beat the egg well and add water and vinegar. Pour over the flour-shortening mixture and beat until combined, about a minute. Do not over beat. Form dough into 4 discs, wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour. You can also freeze at this point and defrost overnight in the fridge when you want to use.

One thought on “Easy As Pie

  1. Hey girlie, Now I guess I must actually make a pie crust. I’m so intimidated by the whole thing. You’ve given me the kick in the butt that I’ve needed.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

