July 3, 2013
paninigirl

6 comments

Let There Be Plums!

plum cake

Last week I was the recipient of a huge bag of plums. I’m talking pounds and pounds of them. I immediately thought of chutney and started looking for jars to fill. One of the best things about working with plums is that they don’t have to be peeled. The skins magically melt into the flesh of the fruit.

I’m going to let you in on a little secret. I am not entirely comfortable with “canning” and so I simply store the finished in the fridge where it’s good for at least a few weeks and then I freeze the rest. This may sound sacrilegious to all of you canning pros, but I’ve done it in the past and the integrity of the chutney is not at all compromised and come winter I have a steady supply of chutney to serve alongside chops and roasts.

A few days later a neighbor who I don’t even know showed up at our door with yet another huge bowl of plums. Am I the only one without a heavy laden tree in the back yard? I thanked her and started looking for my favorite recipe for plum cake This recipe is certainly a keeper. I’m sure it would be equally as delicious with peaches but there’s something irresistible about the subtle flavor of the almonds combined with the slightly tart plums. Summer baking at its best! Right out of the oven this is delectable topped with vanilla ice cream.

6 thoughts on “Let There Be Plums!

  1. I feel the same way you do about canning…it scares me too, I remember my mom saying how careful one had to be…so I am with you… in the fridge for a couple weeks and/or freeze it! I’m a chicken :-)

  2. What a beautiful cake! It’s fun when everyone shares the bounty of their gardens, isn’ tit? you certainly came up with a great way to use the plums.

    And what a beautiful site. This is my first visit, having come from Domenica Marchetti’s site. I’ll be a regular reader now

  3. HI,

    I can’t find the recipe for the Plum Cake. When I click on it, I get to your Plum Chuntney recipe. Aiuto! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers

