November 17, 2012
paninigirl

4 comments

Potstickers & Dipping Sauce

I’ve been craving Chinese food. Trouble is that I don’t even have a restaurant nearby that I would qualify as serving decent Chinese food. So what’s a girl to do? Make my own! A while back I worked in a cooking school and one of the more popular instructors specialized in Asian food so I pulled out my file and decided on a few of his recipes.

Despite the fact that assembling them can be a bit tedious, I can’t resist making potstickers. It’s worth the effort to make a batch and freeze them so you have them ready to go when the urge strikes. The recipe for the pork and cabbage filled potstickers comes from Margie at Eating in Dallas and as good as they are, it’s the dipping sauce that really sets them off. If you don’t have time to make your own potstickers buy a bag of frozen ones (Trader Joes) and whip up this sauce. You will love it!

Dipping Sauce

2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 teaspoon hoisin sauce
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon chili sauce
2 teaspoons fresh ginger, finely minced
1 clove garlic, finely minced
2 teaspoons orange peel, finely minced
2 tablespoons cilantro minced

Mix all ingredients together and use as a dipping sauce. I like to put the potstickers in a bowl, pur some of the sauce over and serve the rest for dipping.

Spring In Tuscany-Cook With Panini Girl In Lucca

4 thoughts on “Potstickers & Dipping Sauce

  1. Love dumplings, but the assembly kills me. You did an incredible job…Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

  2. I love love love everything on your blog. Someday I hope to visit Italy with you.

  3. I’m a Chinese. I don’t know excatly what it is, hunton or jiao zi? Anyway, you’re doning a really good job cuz the shape is very cute! Maybe you can try something else next time. Haha.

  4. Pingback: Vietnamese Chicken Balls In Lettuce Cups | Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 513 other followers

