September 29, 2012
paninigirl

10 comments

Brown Butter Shortbread

I’m a cookie addict. There I’ve said it. I have to have a batch near by at all times. Although I usually only eat one with my morning cappuccino, I’m not happy if the cookie jar is empty. I rarely will buy cookies at the grocery store, preferring to whip up a batch myself as there are plenty of recipes for cookies that take no time at all.

I came upon this recipe on a blog called London Bakes. I’m not quite sure how I ended up on this site, but it’s lovely and I’m sure I’ll visit again when the urge strikes for something sweet. I’m a fool for shortbread and the nuttiness of the browned butter along with brown sugar made these little bites a real winner-perfect with your morning coffee or that afternoon tea.

Brown Butter Shortbread

1 stick + 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1/3 cup light brown sugar
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
A generous pinch of salt

Melt the butter in a small pan over a low heat. Watching carefully, let the butter bubble away until browned and there are lots of lovely brown flecks. Make sure not to overcook and burn it though! Take the pan off the heat and cool.

350F. Line a couple of baking sheets with parchment paper.

Beat together the butter and sugar with a wooden spoon or an electric mixer until well combined. Add the flour and the salt and mix to combine. Bring the ingredients together into a dough.
On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough to the thickness of about 1/4″. I found that I need to put the dough in the fridge for a few minutes before I could roll it thin enough. Cut into shapes and place on the baking trays. Gently press the tops of the cookie with a fork.
Chill for 10-15 minutes in the fridge before baking for 12-15 minutes until firm. Allow to cool on the baking tray for 10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack. Yield: 24-30 cookies

***And don’t forget about discovering lovely Lucca with me in May***

10 thoughts on “Brown Butter Shortbread

  1. These look adorable Janie!

  2. So simple but must be very good made with the brown butter.

  3. These look KILLER – shortbread is my favorite. Unfortunately
    I can’t eat just one – I am definitely a cookie addict. I may have to tempt myself with these!

  4. Love anything that begins with brown butter so I will be making these soon.

  5. I’m so glad you liked them, they’re definitely one of my favourite cookies to make. So difficult to stop eat!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers

