August 24, 2012
paninigirl

4 comments

Braised Chicken With Capers

About a month ago I found fresh caper berries at my farmers’ market and decided to give them a go. A few weeks in salted water and they were ready to use. I drained them, packed them in a jar with salt and popped them into the fridge, just waiting for the right recipe.

When I opened the September issue of Bon Appetit and saw an article on Luce-an Italian restaurant in Portland-I knew that I wanted to try all of the featured recipes. There it was-Braised Chicken with Capers and Parsley. I had found the dish for my capers. To be honest I’ve cooked a chicken dish very similar to this one using pickled cherry peppers, rather than capers. This version is just as good. I love the flavor that the vinegar imparts and the capers add just the right amount of punch.

My only regret is that I didn’t buy more of the fresh capers. It was foolish of me to assume that the farmer would have them the following week. They were gone…

Braised Chicken with Capers and Parsely

4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
1 large onion, minced
4 chicken legs and thighs, separated
1/2 cup minced flat-leaf parsley
1/3 cup salted capers, soaked well and rinsed in several changes of water
2 cups low-fat chicken broth
1/3 cup white wine vinegar
Salt & freshly ground black pepper

Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Add onion and cook stirring often until softened, about 8 minutes. Transfer onion to a bowl.
Add 2 tablespoons oil to skillet and increase heat to medium high. Season chicken with salt. Add chicken to skillet and cook turning once until golden brown on both sides, about 10-12 minutes. Transfer chicken to a plate.

Add reserved onion, chopped parsley and capers to skillet and cook for one minute. Stir in broth and vinegar. Add chicken with any juices and reduce heat to medium low. Cover and simmer until the meat falls off the bone, about 1-1/4 hours.

Transfer chicken to a large platter. Season sauce with salt and pepper and spoon over chicken. Serves: 4

4 thoughts on “Braised Chicken With Capers

  1. Adore this one Janie!!! Thank you so much. You remember I was really hoping for some caper recipes and this one sounds absolutely gorgeous. I love the idea of pollo con capperi – just the burst of flavour chicken needs. You’ll be buying capers by the bucket load the next time that guy’s in town! xx

  2. That does look good. Have you come across any dishes where fresh caperberries are used (ie: without being pickled or brined)?

  3. I just bought some salt cured capers. I see this dish in my future…

  4. Pingback: Puntarelle | Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 513 other followers

