‘Tis the season for blueberries and I just can’t seem to get enough of them. I’m perfectly content to eat them out of hand or in a fruit salad, but baking with them is really what it’s all about. I’ve been holding out, trying to decide which recipe to initiate my summer blueberry-fest and this morning I woke up and thought-“blueberry buckle”.

The search was on. I wondered where I had filed the recipe for this old favorite? I foraged around through the file I keep in the kitchen which started out as all the “recently found recipes that I’d like to try” and has over time morphed into “my favorites and frequently used” file. No sign of blueberry buckle. Next I tackled my massive file (you would think I would have all of this on my computer, but no such luck) and there it was, right in the first place I should have checked-under coffee cakes and muffins.

One more obstacle-the scrap of paper I scribbled the recipes on many years ago was so tattered and stained that I could barely read some of the quantities. I thought about calling my sister as I figured at some point I had probably passed this recipe on to her, but in the end I figured it out on my own and I can’t wait until it comes out of the oven. Happy summer!

Blueberry Buckle

Cake

Mix together:

3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter
1 egg

Add:

1/2 cup milk
2 cups of flour sifted together with the following
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder

Then fold in 2 cups blueberries.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease and flour a 9″ x 9″ pan. Spread batter into prepared pan.

Topping

1/2 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/3 cup flour
1/4 cup butter

Mix sugar, flour and cinnamon together and cut in butter to form crumbs. Toss crumbs over batter and place cake pan in pre-heated oven. Bake for 35 minutes. Enjoy!

Next up-I’m thinking old fashion blueberry pie.

